Niamh Doherty

Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes with Orange Maple Butter

In Breakfast on April 10, 2010 at 13:30

Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. So very important, in fact, that I often eat it more than once. Breakfast for supper is one of my favourite meals, and when I was lucky enough to work with my friend Polly, we continued the tradition begun by Catherine and I of taking our lunch break early and having a second breakfast (“It’s the best kind of breakfast!”).

This recipe comes from Bakerella, via Martha Stewart, and is perfect for a lazy weekend breakfast, or when you have friends staying. Make the orange maple butter the night before, and if you don’t use it all, it freezes beautifully. When making the flavoured butter, make sure your butter is soft, your bowl deep, and use an electric mixer – otherwise it will take ages, you will have sticky splashes of buttery goo everywhere and you will curse me, Bakerella, and Martha Stewart for suggesting such a stoopid idea.

As per usual, I fiddled with this – Bakerella and Martha stipulate tossing the berries in two teaspoons of sugar. I don’t bother – firstly, if it means I have to wash another bowl, I’m not on board; and secondly, you will be dousing these babies in maple syrup, so a little tartness is welcome here.

This recipe uses cup measurements. As most of my favourite food blogs are American and I don’t do sums – especially not in the morning – I bought a set of measuring cups. They’re easy to find (mine are from Tesco and cost about €5) and really useful. Also, for those of us who, upsettingly, don’t live near an American grocery store, a stick of butter weighs 115g. See? I’ve done all the hard work for you. All you need to do is make these!

Ingredients:

Maple Butter –

115g soft butter

1 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp orange juice

Pancakes –

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt (I omit this if using salted butter)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup milk

3 Tbsp butter, melted and cooled

1 egg lightly beaten

1 punnet blueberries

Extra butter for coating the griddle

Maple syrup to serve

Method:

1. The night before, mix the softened butter, maple syrup and orange juice together in a small but deep bowl. When combined, turn it out onto wax paper, twiddle into a vaguely sausage shape, and refrigerate.

2. The next morning, whisk together the dry ingredients in a large bowl. In another bowl, whisk together the milk, buttermilk, beaten egg and cooled, melted butter.

3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until just combined.

4. Heat a pan and brush with melted butter. Pour on 1/4 cup of pancake mixture at a time, and drop some blueberries onto each pancake.

5. Cook until bubbles start to form, flip, and cook the other side until golden.

6. Keep warm on a baking sheet in a low oven (about 80 Celcius) until all the batter is used up.

7. Serve a stack with some of the orange maple butter on top, before drizzling over liberal amounts of maple syrup.

Serves 2-4, depending on your greed!

  1. Oh my gosh, oh my gosh, oh my gosh. I’m famous by association (you mention my ickle bruvver Joe in your own personal description!!) So delira you’ve started this blog (and with a vengance it seems). Keep up the good work and looking forward to seeing more.

    M xox

  2. PS: It’s no longer known as the Sunny South East, but rather, the Irish Riviera 😉

Leave a Reply

