Niamh Doherty

Oatmeal and Raisin Cookies

In Baking on April 30, 2010 at 21:25

This recipe comes courtesy of, erm, Rachel Allen. Okay, okay – I might as well admit to being utterly enamoured of the whole entire Allen family.

This cookie recipe – along with the one for my most favourite and oft-cooked dinner of all time, which I will share soon – are taken from Rachel Allen’s Bake. Thery are utterly delicious, and outrageously quick and easy – I decided to make them on a whim, and had them in the oven in less than 10 minutes. It’s my second time making these cookies, and this time I think I’ve cracked it. I made them larger than specified by Rachel, and removed them from the oven when they were a pale, sandy gold; the outside slightly crunchy and the interior still crumblingly light and moist.

Previously, when making cookies, I waved aside all mentions of vanilla extract, dismissing it as an expensive and unecessary addition. Having since baked a vanilla-breathed cookie mix from the Milk & Cookies bakery in New York, I realised that it not only fills my kitchen with a wafting, warming scent, but imparts a subtle sweetness to all it touches, and it has become a store cupboard staple of mine.

I’ve discussed my love of cinnamon before, and couldn’t but add it to these cookies. Cinnamon and raisin are a classic combination, and one which really works in these tasty cookies. The recipe seems to specify an erringly-large amount of oats, but they will mix evenly, I promise. Rachel says that she gets 30 cookies from this recipe, but I got 20, and I prefer them that bit bigger as they give a good ratio of crunch without to melting softness within. I advise eating them while still warm and buttery, and feel that a glass of cold, creamy milk is the only proper accompaniment.

Oatmeal and Raisin Cookies (adapted from Bake, by Rachel Allen)

Ingredients:

110g softened butter,

110g caster sugar

110g soft light brown sugar

1 egg

2 tbsp water

1 tsp vanilla extract

250g porridge oats

110g self-raising flour

1 level salt

110g raisins

1 tsp cinnamon

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 180 Celcius.

2. Cream the butter in a large bowl until soft. Add the sugars and beat until the mixture is light and fluffy.

3. Add the egg, water and vanilla (I put them all in a jug, for ease of swift, stressless addition) while still beating.

4. Reduce the speed and mix in the oats, flour, salt, raisins and cinnamon to form a dough.

5. Use your hands to roll pieces of the dough into walnut-sized balls and place spaced slightly apart on two baking trays (no need to grease or line).

6. Bake for 15-25 minutes, or until light golden brown but still slightly soft in the centre.

7. Allow to cool on the trays for a minute before removing to a wire rack to cool for a minute or two while you pour a cool glass of milk to enjoy them with.

  1. […] on this blog, and some tasty bites that I’ve made before. For sale will be Lemon Squares, Oatmeal and Raisin Cookies and Banana Bread, along with Peanut Butter and Snickers muffins, White Chocolate and Raspberry […]

Leave a Reply

