Niamh Doherty

Loaded Potato Skins

In Supper on May 4, 2010 at 21:13

I love these. I love them. I love them so much that when I walked into one of the restaurants near my office one day the waiter looked me up and down and said, “Potato skins?” before I was even in my seat. Mortified, I decided that it was time to stop frequenting that particular peddler of potato-based delights, and start making them at home instead.

These are not only outrageously delicious – although I can eat my weight in chocolate like any other self-respecting girl, I have a savoury tooth, and this pushes all my buttons – but ridiculously easy, too. All you have to remember to do is put them in the oven about 90 minutes before you want to eat, and you can sit down and do the crossword while dinner looks after itself. They’re not super-speedy, as you have to wait for the potatoes to bake, but it’s not your time, and they make up for the wait by their ease of assembly. When the potatoes have baked through, cut them in half, scoop out the flesh, mash it with some delicious additions, refill the shells, sprinkle with cheese, blast in a hot oven and apply them to your face. I like these with salad (if I’m being virtuous), peas (if I’m being lazy), or, like tonight, chive-sprinkled sour cream (if I’m being good to myself).

The amounts given below are approximations, so feel free to add more or less, depending on your taste, or vary the ingredients. I use creme fraiche in the mash, but butter can be used in its stead, and add spring onions, but some freshly-snipped chives would be gorgeous too, as would crispy bacon in place of the smoked ham I used. I prefer fully-mature cheddar as it gives more bang for its buck, flavour-wise, but any meltable cheese would be good. These are also good for parties, using bite-sized baking potatoes. A little fiddly, I grant you, but your guests will reward you with their unbridled appreciation.

Loaded Potato Skins

Ingredients:

500g baking potatoes

3tbsps creme fraiche

1.5 spring onions, chopped

2 slices cooked ham, chopped,

grated cheese

salt & pepper

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 200 Celcius/Gas Mark 6. Prick the potatoes with a fork and put in the oven to bake for approx 60 minutes, but they may need longer, depending on their size.

2. When the potatoes have cooked through, remove them from the oven and allow to cool slightly. Cut them in half lengthways, and scoop out the flesh into a saucepan, but be careful not to scoop right through the skin as you’ll need this later.

3. Mash the potato flesh and add the creme fraiche gradually, until you are happy with the consistency. Add the chopped spring onions and ham, and mix thoroughly. Season to taste.

4. Refill the potato skins with the potato mixture, and cover the top with a generous helping of grated cheese. Pop back into the oven and heat until the cheese is golden and bubbling. Serve with your chosen side and enjoy!

  1. “apply them to your face”

    Love this! (Your writing as well as the general idea, heh)

  2. This is my favorite kind of snack; cheese, potatoes, and pork. Yum!

Leave a Reply

