Niamh Doherty

Orange Breakfast Muffins

In Baking, Breakfast on May 6, 2010 at 18:55

I know, I know…it’s only Thursday, and I’m a bit ahead of myself with what is undoubtedly a weekend breakfast item. I don’t have weekend fever already; rather, I’m giving you, dear readers, a head start on your weekend plans. Buy the items listed below on Friday night – and I would suggest adding two extra oranges to your shopping list, seeing as you’re buying one already you might as well provide yourself with the wherewithal for some freshly-squeezed orange juice for breakfast – before weighing out and combining the dry ingredients, leaving you with little more to do on Saturday morning than some light stirring. Rouse your slumbering loved one with a prettily-laid breakfast tray – a pot of tea, the morning papers, delicious fruit jams and these tenderly light, fluffy, orange muffins. Surprised, touched, grateful adoration will be yours forever more.

These come courtesy of Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Bites. I’ve made these many, many times, and am always surprised at how good they are, wonder why I don’t make them more often, and, with each bite, promise to bake them on a weekly basis. That never happens, of course, but it’s nice to dream…

These are extremely easy to make – as I said, you can even weigh out and mix the dry ingredients together the night before, and all that needs to be done the next morning is juice the orange (if it doesn’t yield a full 100ml of liquid feel free to top it up with cartoned juice, it’s what I do), measure out your milk, and mix it up with the egg and cooled, melted butter, before lazily stirring the wet ingredients into the dry. As muffin mixes should be heavy, lumpy, and barely combined, it is utterly impossible to exert yourself when making these.

I love these muffins eaten as Nigella directs – that is, split when still warm and smeared, mouthful by mouthful, with butter, honey or jam; raspberry being my conserve of choice. I haven’t – surprise, surprise – tinkered with these at all, but imagine that some dried or even fresh cranberries would be a delicious addition. But don’t take it from me, try them yourself this weekend.

Orange Breakfast Muffins (taken from Nigella Bites, by Nigella Lawson)

Ingredients:

75g butter

250g self-raising flour

25g ground almonds

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 tsp baking powder

75g caster sugar

zest of 1 orange

100ml freshly-squeezed orange juice

100ml full-fat milk

1 egg

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 200 Celcius/Gas Mark 6.

2. Melt the butter and set aside. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

3. Measure the orange juice and milk, whisk in the egg, and add the cooled, melted butter.

4. Pour the liquid mixture into the bowl of dry ingredients, mixing with a fork as you go. As above, the batter should be barely combined; the heaviest batter makes for the lightest muffin.

5. Spoon the mixture into your prepared, paper-lined muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes.

6. Remove to a wire rack to cool ever-so-slightly before falling on them with grateful greed.

Makes 12.

  1. Re first paragraph (esp. prettily-laid breakfast tray): marry me? Joe and Phil can marry each other so we’ll still see them. Keep up the wonderful work.

  2. Only if we can get a puppy…

  3. Just made these – great call they are absolutley gorgeous. Drizzled a little plain Chocolat Patissier over the top to make it a little less breakfasty – yum. Keep em coming 🙂

  4. Good call on the chocolate Camon! Will have to try that myself – glad you enjoyed them!

  5. These would be a great start to any morning!

  6. Oh…my…stars. I must make these muffins. I must make them soon. I must make them today. Emmm…I must make them NOW. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

Leave a Reply

