Niamh Doherty

SOMA Garden Market

In Baking, Life, Market on July 31, 2010 at 20:22

Today I had a stall at my first ever farmer’s market, which was a resounding success. By the end of the day, I had one Snickers and peanut butter muffin, and about 10 cookies left over! My sister helped me with the baking last night, and we fell into bed at 2am. I’m so grateful for her help – I would never have gotten everything done otherwise! Many of my friends and family came along to support me and buy my treats, including Candi of The Boho Kitchen – who is going to have a stall there next weekend, so if you enjoyed her baking at the recent Dunmore Food Festival, take note. I had a brilliant day – everyone was so friendly and, most importantly, enjoyed my baking, which was the best thing. I was a bit nervous going into it, but got great feedback which really boosted my confidence. One lady who’d bought some flapjacks came back a couple of hours later to buy all the flapjacks that I had left…apparently her husband told her that they were nicer than the ones she makes!

I was so touched and thriled that so many people turned up to see me – I really appreciated the effort that you all made, so thank you very, very much. I’m booked in to do it again on the 21st August, so I hope to see you there next time! Hopefully my table will look like this by 4pm again…

  1. I would love to do what you’re doing, Niamh, and I congratulate you on the great success at your first-ever farmer’s market. How did you first get started with doing it? Did you just ask ’round to see if there were any available spaces for a new stall? I bake my own breads, muffins, scones, pies, bikkies and the like, and would love to do this, as I love baking. To coin a name of a great baking blog, baking is my zen. I get up in the morning and just want to get stuck in to baking something. How brilliant it’d be to sell at a farmer’s market. I wish you every success. Well done, you!

    • Thanks so much for your good wishes! I’m hoping that it goes just as well, if not better, in the future! I’ve sent you a quick mail with some info about the market 🙂

      • Thanks, Niamh. I got your e-mail and replied back to you (with even more questions). Thanks for all your input and advice, and again, well done on how brilliantly you’ve done on your first day at the market. It’s only the beginning – you’re on to a sure-fire winner. Hope to hear from you soon, if you’ve a bit of time for more chat

      • Aw, thanks so much! Got your email but have been up to my eyes so I’ll do my best to reply to it over the weekend. Talk soon!

  2. Looks like Phil might just have been right about you and business 😉 Delira for you it went well xx

  3. Hi, just wanted to say I’m so glad I found your blog, and well done on your market outing, you must be delighted! Congratulations! Also, its great to read other Irish food blogs! I’ll be following you with best w!ishes

Leave a Reply

